Looking for a different pre-ride breakfast?

Standard

This week, Jeff and I decided to simply remove all simple grains.  What does this mean?

We took out things like oatmeal, crackers, bread, cookies and muffins (we even removed all dairy and eggs).  Even though these items were gluten free, they are simple and just don’t pack the punch foods like quinoa and Amaranth can.  So on Sunday afternoon, I went ahead preparing loads of healthy “grab” food for the week.  This plan wasn’t done to loose weight, but to basically clean out our system from poor sources of carbohydrates and to help me further recover from two Ironman events in 8 weeks.

So, rather than my go to breakfast of oatmeal, raisins and coffee (I haven’t had any in two days);  I had 4 dates, 1/4 cup of mix nuts (walnuts, pecans and almonds) and 10 oz. of fresh juice (which consisted of 2 apples, 1 enormous carrot, 1 celery stalk, two slices of mango and a large piece of fennel).

My ride today is a super easy spin, so no major scientific data will be deduced.  But, I am eager to see if my “hunger” creeps in at the 1:30 mark.

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

