What I want MY DAUGHTERS to know about life and living.

Standard

There are so many posts, blogs, facebook status’ and twitter musings about what society wants to teach/tell our daughters….so I thought I would throw in my two cents about the things I hope for my daughters as they both are getting ready to enter into the next phase of their lives.

Image

1.  Not everyone will love you…and for that matter, not everyone will like you. BUT, Dad and I always will, unconditionally and without reservation.  We may not always like the choices you make or the things you do, but no matter what we will always LOVE you.Image

2.  If someone doesn’t like you, it’s honestly none of your business.  It’s taken me a ridiculous amount of time and wasted years to realize this.  Not everyone will mesh, not everyone will see eye to eye, and not everyone will be your friend.  The same holds true for you….you don’t “have” to like everyone, just try really hard not to pass judgement on them.  Until you have walked even just ten steps in their shoes, you have no idea what their life is like or has been.

3.  Don’t be afraid to be alone.  Solitude is a beautiful thing.  Having a boyfriend or a best friend is wonderful, but you are strong and can also do it on your own.

4.  You have all the tools to be successful.  Don’t let anyone ever tell you, you can’t do something, be something, go somewhere or experience something.  Image

5.  Be willing to think outside the box, go outside your comfort zone.  You both showed this to Dad and I this year, with your amazing solo travels to Washington, DC; Florida; California; and a remote island off the coast of Maine.  I don’t know many girls who would have been brave enough to do that at 20, let alone, 14 and 16.

6.  If you are going to exercise, ride horses, play lacrosse, snowboard, run, ride your bike, train, hike, surf, race…. do it for you, and for no one else.  And do it for the sheer love of it.

7.  Be honest, not only to those around you, but to yourself.

8.  Always trust your gut!  It’s saved me over and over again.  And when I didn’t listen to it, I’ve regretted what occurred.

9.  Don’t look back and say. “I wish I did….” you can’t have a do-over in life.  Be a chance taker, a risk taker….but always be safe.

10.  Don’t be afraid to be silly!  A chance at being silly, allows you to be you….if you let it pass by, you may have missed an opportunity of a lifetime (seriously….how hard did you laugh at the Underpants Run??)

Image

11.  Always be yourself.  Be the you, you know you can be.  Never be afraid to show the world who you are.

Image

12.  Love with all your heart.  And, know, there is always a place for you to come home to.  It’s funny, I am 45 years old, but you both heard me say over and over again, at Thanksgiving, “It’s good to be home.”  The people who love you unconditionally, will always have a home for you.  Whether its in Maine….Massachusetts….Florida….there is no geographical cure for a problem that arises, but know that geography will never dictate where your home is with Dad and I.

Image

One thought on “What I want MY DAUGHTERS to know about life and living.

Leave a Reply

